AWCON: Oshoala leads 21 Super Falcons to Ghana

All eyes will be on reigning Africa Women’s Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, as the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations begins next week in Ghana.

The China-based forward is the star player in coach Thomas Dennerby’s 21-woman squad for the biennial event.

There were assured spots for strike partners Desire Oparanozie and Francisca Ordega.

The eight-time champions, presently camping in Abidjan Cote d’Ivoire will depart for Ghana on Wednesday.

Nigeria takes on South Africa on November 18, before matches against Zambia and Kenya in Cape Coast.   

Hosts Ghana, Algeria, Mali and Cameroon will battle things out in Group A in Accra.

Full 21 squad

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons);  Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)   

Leave a Reply